During my HSG procedure, the Radiologist suggested I may have a myoma (fibroid) based on the shape of my uterus. He suggested I get an ultrasound to rule out. My test results from the HSG were written as follows:

CLINICAL HISTORY: Infertility

METHOD: Following a cleansing of the cervix catheter was advanced into the uterine cavity and water soluble contrast was injected.

FINDINGS: The fallopian tubes are normal in course and caliber and spill freely into the pelvic peritoneal space. There is a mild indication of the superior surface of the uterus. The possibility of a myoma is raised.

IMPRESSION: Normal uterine cavity and fallopian tubes.

I was able to view the image of my uterus, and it looked like a kidney, not like a pear as it should be. For some reason, I was suddenly stressed. I knew at this point we were headed down a difficult path.

I phone my ob/gyn and requested the order for the ultrasound. She was very laid back about the possibility of any complications or any myoma. She felt confident that we would be able to proceed with IUI. I didn’t feel as confident. I spoke to my husband about it. He seemed to think I was over reacting. My parents as well. I KNEW SOMETHING WAS NOT RIGHT.

I had the ultrasound six days later on January 28, 2009. It was a tough six days for me. It was all I could think about. I did too much research on the internet, and knew too much about the potential treatment / surgery to remove a myoma. It was a potential 4-5 day hospital stay and 4-6 week recovery. Everyone was telling me not to let my mind get away from me. It was a real challenge. I had a deep feeling that internally I was not functioning properly. I had been experiencing incredible pain during my periods and ovulation. I wondered if I had mistaken that pain for a myoma or a cyst.

Every time I have an ultrasound, the technician is unable to execute abdmoninally since my uterus is retroverted. I drink more water than I am supposed to drink, I wait until I think I will burst, and still, I end up having a vaginal ultrasound. This time was no different. EXCEPT…the ultrasound team was running behind and I had to wait an extra 35 minutes beyond my appointment. I nearly wet the table.

It didn’t take long for the tech to realize she couldn’t get a good view abdominally, so she released me to the restroom. I came back for the vaginal ultrasound, and found the tech to be incredibly kind and gentle. She also did something that no other tech had ever done…she gave me results as she viewed them on the screen.

She found two small fibroids and two cysts. My exam results were written as follows:

EXAMINATION: Transabdominal and endovaginal pelvic ultrasound

CLINICAL INDICATION: Fibroids

COMPARISON: 9/13/2004

TECHNIQUE: Transabdominal and endovaginal ultrasound performed.

FINDINGS: The uterus was measured 9.3 x 4.0 x 5.1 cm. A 1.3cm anterior intramural fibroid is visualized. There is a posterior fundal subserosal fibroid that measures 1.2cm. The endometrium appears smooth homogeneous and measures 6.3mm in thickness. The right ovary measures 3.6 x 3.5 x 4.5cm, while the left ovary measures 2.5 x 2.1 x 2.7cm. Two adjacent simple appearing cysts are seen within the right ovary. They measure 3.0 and 2.0cm. The left ovary is unremarkable. No free fluid is seen.

IMPRESSION: Two small uterine fibroids as described. 3.0 and 2.0cm right ovarian cysts.

Based on these findings, my ob/gyn wanted to take a “watch and wait” approach. I must say…I don’t like the idea of having any more procedures, but I don’t like “watch and wait” either. It bothers me to no end that there is something growing inside me that we will just wait to see what happens.

We had our first appointment with the UCSF Fertility Center February 9, 2009…only two weeks away. We just need to get to that appointment, I thought.

In the meantime, my husband went to get his semen analysis.

